GMCW announces 2017 Harmony Award Winners

Gay Men’s Chorus announces 2017 Harmony Award Winners

GMCW is pleased to announce its 2017 Harmony Award winners. The Harmony Award is given each year to an individual from the community, an organization, and an individual from within the Chorus family who exemplify GMCW’s mission and work to champion equality. NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists, a long-time GMCW singer, and a stage director will receive the organization’s highest honors.

Jack Reiffer has been a faithful member of GMCW since 1998. He served as president of GMCW in the 2002-2003 Season. The next year, he provided crucial leadership as chair of GMCW’s first Spring Affair and the first Harmony Awards. He was inducted into the Circle of Excellence in 2004. Later that year, Jack began a two-year term as chair of the Board of Directors. Being a former pastor and a man of great faith, Jack has organized area churches to be involved with GMCW in an outreach program, Partners in Harmony, and became a part of the Care Corps team which tends to personal needs and challenges faced by Chorus membership. Jack currently serves as the Associate Administrator of Christ House – an organization providing comprehensive and compassionate health care to sick and homeless persons in the District of Columbia.

John Moran was a professional stage director, writer and producer who worked both nationally and internationally, in addition to his work with GMCW. John shared his immense talent with us for over thirty years. He was a true visionary, and believed in the theater as an agent for social change. John led GMCW to unprecedented professionalism on the stage, and helped us to make our greatest impact. His artistic vision challenged social norms, opened minds and hearts, and strengthened the performers who were blessed enough to work with him. He empowered us to raise our voice for equality and inclusion with every show he directed. This award is presented posthumously.

NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists was founded in 1990 by the late Leroy F. Aarons, and is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBTQ issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members. NLGJA is a strong voice in the news industry, educating newsroom decision-makers about coverage of the LGBT community, promoting non-discrimination policies and the establishment of equal benefits, and creating educational opportunities to support the next generation of LGBTQ newsroom leaders.